Cricketers v Footballers

Footballers defeat Cricketers

The Footballers bounced back from their defeat in 2014 to register their 6th win in the series of matches and now lead the series 6-3 over the 9 year period.

The margin for success however, could not have been closer with only 4 points between the two teams. This was without doubt the closest match in the history of the event. David Hirst bringing in 42 points in the penultimate match sealed defeat for the Cricketers and the celebrations began for the Footballers. However, New Captain of the cricket team Graeme Swann said he couldn’t wait for next year to try and win the trophy back for the Cricketers. The Footballers led as usual by team Captain Alan Shearer said calmly bring it on see you next year boys.

The individual prize was won by Ronnie Irani with and amazing 87 points having been pushed by Iain Dowie on 84 points. This was after an incredible 48 points on the first day by Iain Dowie and the handicap committee will be looking very closely for next year at both players. The final points score was Footballers 712 Cricketers 708.

I’d like to finish by thanking our sponsors BCM for their support and the Donna Filipa for all their help during our stay. Most of all we would like to thank all the teams for participating and for making it the great event it is.

Click here to download a full set of fixtures and results from 2015’s event.